Acceptance

In my last post, I mentioned that acceptance is relevant to being open to opportunity. This aspect of mindfulness has been a constant source of fascination (and angst) for me. We allow into our lives what we think we can have. Or what we expect to come our way. This is often why we end up in a rut with our prayers, hopes and wishes. If, deep down, we don’t believe that we are worthy, we believe that God or the Universe isn’t capable of providing or just that life is no damn good, that’s exactly what we’ll get. And those deep down beliefs are the ones that count. “No, no, no!’ we may wail. “That’s not what I want at all!” It’s okay, I believe you. But our expectation is a form of belief. And sometimes expectations come from deep, deep down inside of us. For me, self-honesty has been very important here. I’ve had to be really clear with myself about what I honestly expect will happen and whether or not I truly want what I’ve been wishing for. Or if I just thought I was supposed to want it (that one’s a kicker).

At our house the last couple of days have been taken up with transportation. Vehicle expenses had just gotten to be too much, even with Tom’s ability to futz around with them. When all seemed about lost, when we were down to one vehicle that wasn’t running that great, an acquaintance gave us a pickup truck. Of course it wasn’t perfect, it needed a new battery and a couple of cosmetic things, but it’s in better shape than Tom’s other truck.

Oops, couldn’t quite accept it though. It stalled out on a freeway exit and had to coast into a gas station. 24 hours of researching online and some time to get accustomed to having a better truck netted a new (free) alternator and it’s on the road again. I’ve seen this happen before – can’t quite accept but a little time and familiarization with the new situation can help us take it in.

Sometimes acceptance is just funny. I reported that I had this batch of grapefruits that I needed to make use of. I searched and found a recipe for grapefruit curd. Now I’ve never knowingly had grapefruit curd in my life, but it sounded good and I’m not supposed to have regular grapefruit in my diet, so what the hey. I made a very tasty batch of the stuff. However, it’s high in fat and sugar and didn’t even use up that much grapefruit. And I had all these leftover egg whites that I ended up making meringue cookies with.

Epiphany strikes! Tom loves lemon meringue pie. So I checked out some top rated recipes to find that I can make a citrus meringue pie using up all my yolks and whites plus double the quantity of grapefruit. And with less sugar and fat. With a more interesting flavor. Before, I had thought I wouldn’t get to have much, if any of the “fruits” of my labor. Working with and familiarizing myself with the situation was a way of bringing in a new, unknown result of good from working with a previously barely acceptable situation.

For me life is a meditation process and every step in it is a step of learning. Being mindful of the small lessons helps get me through the rough patches that are more of a challenge.

So, the grapefruit-ginger meringue pie is happening tonight, while this morning’s endeavor was a batch of my low-fat, reduced sugar, zucchini mini-muffins. Mini-muffins are my go-to snack when I want something ‘bready’. Please note that this recipe came from somewhere off the internet. I’ve since modified it.

Zucchini Mini-muffins With apples

Zucchini Mini-muffins
With apples

Here is the recipe:

  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp. allspice
  • 1/8 tsp.ginger
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/3 cups shredded zucchini (about 1 medium zucchini)
  • 1/2 cup fat-free milk
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil (or applesauce)
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 large egg
  • Cooking spray

I will often toss in 1 cup of raisins or chopped apple at the end. Others may like chopped walnuts or pecans.

Optional Topping:

  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 400°.
  2. Weigh or lightly spoon flours into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine whole-wheat flour and next 6 ingredients (through salt) in a large bowl; stir with a whisk. Combine zucchini, milk, oil, honey, and egg in a small bowl; stir until blended. Make a well in center of flour mixture; add milk mixture, stirring just until moist. Fold in fruit or chopped nuts. Spoon batter into 12 muffin cups coated with cooking spray.
  3. Combine 1 tablespoon sugar and 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon; sprinkle over tops of muffins.
  4. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until golden. Remove from pans immediately; cool on a wire rack.

The simplest way to determine your acceptance level is to just look at your life as it is right now. You have what you expect, you have what you can accept. And I hope you don’t think that I’m only referring to money or material items. This can be relationships, friends, personal health, the list goes on and on. I’ll be speaking more on this topic as we go along. Until then, have a good week ahead.

Leave a Reply

